Staff Feature: Sherrie Longello

Learn more about the team behind the Art Center at Ambler

What is your position with ACAA?
As Art Center Coordinator, I work directly with the Art Center Director. I find venues for exhibits, and recruit volunteers for exhibits and receptions. I am also the person who designs
and sends your weekly eblast announcing upcoming events, classes, workshops, member news, reminders, etc. In addition, I design, prepare, and arrange the printing and mailing of the Class Catalogs and make updates to the ACAA website.

How long have you been with ACAA?
I have been at the Art Center since 2016.

I know you’ve done a bit of traveling. Do you have a favorite museum? Or is there a favorite piece you’ve seen that particularly moved you?
I visited an exhibit at the Society of the Four Arts in Palm Beach, FL a few years back. The exhibit was Isabella de Borchgrave, “Fashioning Art from Paper.” Through her expert manipulation of paper and paint, de Borchgrave creates sculptural replicas of historic garments found in early European paintings and collections from around the world. I was fascinated by the fact that every inch of every gown was made entirely out of paper. Even the
shoes and jewelry!

One more thing, please share two or three of your favorite paintings with us.